National Theatre Wales, Out of Joint & Arcola Theatre with Sherman Cymru

Crouch, Touch, Pause, Engage

Dates

19 February - 7 March, 7.30pm
Matinee: 4 March, 1.30pm
Previews: 19 - 21 February

Prices

£15 - £25
Previews: £12 - £20
Matinee: £12 - £20

Concessions: £2 off
Under 25s Half Price

More information

Written by Robin Soans
Directed by Max Stafford-Clark

Post-show talks: 26 February, 5 March
Audio-Described Performance: 4 March, 7.30pm
Captioned Performance: 6 March. The screen for the surtitles will be on the left hand side of the auditorium.

Main House
English
Running Time 2 hours

Contains strong language
Please note: Gareth Thomas will not be appearing in the performance
#NTWAlfie

  • Show Information
  • Show Times
  • Reviews
  • Cast & Team

Show Information

"I was doing something nobody had done before, and if you’re the first to do something, you have to be prepared to take the sh*t for it."

On the eve of one of the most important games of his career, Welsh rugby legend Gareth Thomas received a warning: The Sun newspaper was going to "out" him as gay.

This is the story of two Welsh names bruised, but not beaten, by media speculation; Gareth "Alfie" Thomas, 100 caps for Wales, once its captain, now the world’s most prominent gay sportsman; and his hometown, Bridgend.

Working with Alfie himself, and young people in Bridgend, two of the UK's most exciting theatre companies - National Theatre Wales and Out of Joint - have teamed up to tell a great Welsh story about sport, politics, secrets, life and learning to be yourself.

Please note: Gareth Thomas will not be appearing in the performance

Out of Joint can provide workshops associated with the production.

For further information about the workshops, delivery and workshop prices please contact Out of Joint’s Education Administrator isabel@outofjoint.co.uk | 020 7609 0207.

 Resource Pack Download

Crouch, Touch, Pause, Engage menu

Show Times

Thursday 19 February 7.30pm Preview
Friday 20 February 7.30pm Preview
Saturday 21 February 7.30pm Preview
Monday 23 February 7.30pm  
Tuesday 24 February 7.30pm  
Wednesday 25 February 7.30pm  
Thursday 26 February 7.30pm Post-show Talk
Friday 27 February 7.30pm  
Saturday 28 February 7.30pm  
Monday 2 March 7.30pm  
Tuesday 3 March 7.30pm  
Wednesday 4 March 1.30pm  
Wednesday 4 March 7.30pm Audio-Described
Thursday 5 March 7.30pm Post-show Talk
Friday 6 March 7.30pm Captioned
Saturday 7 March 7.30pm  

Reviews

**** The Western Mail
"...an uplifting story of hope and there is an over-riding message about the importance of being true to yourself.”

***** The Public Reviews
"This may be a moving story with some real dark times, but it is told with a wonderful and realistic sense of humour."

*****The Times

Cast & Team

Written by Robin Soans

Directed by Max Stafford-Clark

Cast Patrick Brennan, Katie Elin-Salt, Daniel Hawksford, Lauren Roberts, Rhys ap William, Bethan Witcomb


Gallery

Latest tweets

@ShermanTheatre

RT @Re_Live_Org: 1/3 #MeToo Wales Thank you to everyone who has already submitted an anonymous story to the event @ShermanTheatre on 25 Nov…
Sat, 18 Nov 2017