Sherman Cymru

Clytemnestra

 

Clytemnestra - early stages of rehearsals

So...what is a fury? and a Proto-Fury?

Dates

18 April - 5 May
Previews: 18 - 19 April

Prices

Full Price: £15 - £25
Concessions £2 off
Under 25s - Half Price Tickets

More information

Audio Described Performance:
4 May

Captioned Performance:
5 May

Post-Show Talks:
26 April & 3 May

School & college workshops available:
Alice Nicholas: 029 2064 6980

  • Show Information
  • Show Times
  • Reviews
  • Cast & Team

Show Information

Clytemnestra

"When we've killed all the animals 
Men will be next."

Oil has run out and the world fights for food. To save his people, Agamemnon sacrifices his daughter to his barbaric new allies. With the fury of a mother betrayed, Clytemnestra waits for his return.

Adultery, power and revenge drive this new telling of an epic Greek legend.

A major new production from Sherman Cymru, Clytemnestra combines the dramatic story-telling of the former National Poet of Wales, Gwyneth Lewis, with the bold direction of Amy Hodge (Measure for Measure).

Gwyneth Lewis in conversation with Penny James

Sherman Cymru logo

 

Show Times

 

Clytemnestra:  Theatre 1

Duration: 1hr 20min

Wednesday 18 April Preview 7.30pm
Thursday 19 April Preview 7.30pm
Friday 20 April   7.30pm
Saturday 21 April   7.30pm
Monday 23 April   7.30pm
Tuesday 24 April   7.30pm
Wednesday 25 April   7.30pm
Thursday 26 April - 
Post-Show Talk
  7.30pm
Friday 27 April   7.30pm
Saturday 28 April   7.30pm
Monday 30 April   7.30pm
Tuesday 1 May   7.30pm 
Wednesday 2 May   7.30pm 
Thursday 3 May 
Post-Show Talk
  7.30pm 
Friday 4 May  Audio Described 7.30pm 
Saturday 5 May  Captioned 7.30pm 

 

Audio Described Audio Described Performance

Captioned Captioned Performance

Reviews

"...Lewis’s lovely lyrical script brings this Greek tragedy back to life in an inventive way for a new generation." Karen Price, Western Mail

"...a briskly told tale, richly visual, constantly engaging, and replete with rewardingly startling moments; a robustly and imaginatively physical take on text-based theatre." Othniel Smith, British Theatre Guide

"Ambitious, visually bold production refocuses Ancient Greek tragedy." Timothy Ramsden, ReviewsGate

Cast & Team

By Gwyneth Lewis

Director:
Amy Hodge

Designer:
takis

Lighting Designer:
Lee Curran

Composer & Sound Designer:
Simon Thorne

Choreographer:
Johan Stjernholm

Assistant Designer:
Sara Polonghini

Cast:
Rhian Blythe
Matthew Bulgo
Jaye Griffiths
Nia Gwynne
Kezrena James
Nick Moss
Adam Redmore
Jonah Russell
Eiry Thomas


Gallery

Latest tweets

@ShermanTheatre

Rydym yn gwahodd ceisiadau ar gyfer cam nesaf ein Cynllun Cyfarwyddwyr JMK. Dyddiad cau ar gyfer ceisiadau: 8 Rhagf… https://t.co/Nc21wExmwR
Mon, 20 Nov 2017